Library 101 is a research instruction co-curriculum that can be use concurrently with any course that requires research or other library-based work. This plan is designed so that faculty can incorporate the lessons seamlessly into any course to help students learn research skills outside of class time. Library 101 is designed for first-time library users or those who may not have used a library in more than a year or two. However, it can also be used as a refresher with students who need it.
Most activities take less than half an hour each to complete, but they will help students be prepared and confident to use the library and conduct research, as well as teach them how to get help at each step of the way. Each lesson includes materials that students can revisit as necessary.
| Description | Timing | Lesson | Follow-up/Homework |
|---|---|---|---|
|
Lesson 1: Introduction to the Library |
Assign during the first week of classes. |
Read the Getting Started with Library Research guide Watch: Introduction to the Library |
Consider inviting a librarian to your class for 10 minutes to introduce themselves and reinforce availability of help.
|
| Lesson 2: Academic Integrity* Summary: Understand the concept of academic integrity, recognize different forms of plagiarism, use research material ethically, understand basic principles of citation. |
Assign during the first or second week of classes. |
Complete the Academic Integrity and Anti-Plagiarism Tutorial* |
Read: |
|
Lesson 3: Using the Global Search Tool* |
Assign when a library activity or research project is first introduced, generally between weeks 1 - 3. |
Complete the Using the Global Search Tool Tutorial* This tutorial should take 10 - 15 minutes to complete. |
Read the Global Search Guide. |
|
Lesson 4: Finding eBooks* Providing students with scans of book chapters that the library owns can potentially result in copyright violations; instead teach them to retrieve books and book chapters themselves. This helps them understand that not all research material is free and accessible through Google, and provides the library with statistics needed for making purchasing decisions. |
Assign the first time students are required to use an eBook that is owned by the library, and revisit as necessary for additional eBook readings. |
Complete the Finding eBooks Tutorial* |
Read the Finding and Downloading eBooks Guide. |
|
Lesson 5: Finding Articles Having students access their own material familiarizes them with the library’s resources, helps them understand that not all research material is free and accessible through Google, and provides the library with statistics needed for making purchasing decisions. |
Assign the first time students are required to use an articles that is owned by the library, and revisit as necessary for additional article readings. |
Read the Finding Journal, News, and Magazine Articles Guide. Watch: Finding Journal Articles Runtime: 4:34. |
Students should retrieve a reading owned by the library that is needed for the course and be prepared to discuss or write about it. |
| Lesson 6: Advanced Search Techniques* Summary: Strategies to help students make searches more precise and quickly find the information that is most relevant to a research question. |
Assign between weeks 3 to 5 of classes, possibly along with Lessons 7 and 8. |
Attend the Advanced Search Techniques Live Workshop. All workshops are available upon request, for individuals or groups. Alternatively, faculty can request that a librarian teach this lesson during class time.
|
Read the Advanced Search Screens in Research Database Guide. |
| Lesson 7: Choosing Search Terms Summary: Students will learn to create lists of search terms, use databases to identify additional terms, and how to create the most effective search structures. |
Assign between weeks 3 to 5 of classes, possibly along with Lessons 6 and 8. |
[UNDER CONSTRUCTION] |
|
| Lesson 8: Choosing a Database Summary: Students will learn how to identify and select the database(s) that are best suited to their research topic and resource needs. |
Assign between weeks 3 to 5 of classes, possibly along with Lessons 6 and 7. |
Read the Database List Guide. |
Activity Suggestions:
OR
|
|
Lesson 9: Distinguishing Among Source Types* |
Assign between weeks 4 to 6 of classes, possibly along with Lesson 10. |
Complete the Distinguishing Among Source Types tutorial. |
Read:
|
| Lesson 10: Evaluating Sources* Summary: Students will learn to make decisions about which sources may be useful for research, which to reject, and which to revisit. Helps students develop awareness and understanding of the scholarly conversations that take place in their field; formulate and refine research questions; weigh the relative authority of sources; and detect unreliable, poorly researched, or poorly presented information. |
Assign between weeks 4 to 6 of classes, possibly along with Lesson 9. |
Complete the Evaluating Sources Tutorial (award winning tutorial developed by another library). This tutorial should take 10 - 15 minutes to complete. |
Read: |
| Lesson 11: Citing Sources* Summary: Students will learn the basic principles of citing in the APA style. |
Assign about mid-way to the research project's deadline, possibly along with Lesson 12. |
Attend the APA 7 Formatting and Style Basics Workshop. All workshops are available upon request, for individuals or groups. Alternatively, faculty can request that a librarian teach this lesson during class time. |
Read the Citing Sources Guide (includes help for APA and other styles). |
|
Lesson 12: Bibliographic Management Tools* Note: This workshop is best for students with longer research projects that have a bibliography likely to be longer than 10 sources. |
Assign about mid-way to the research project's deadline, possibly along with Lesson 11. |
Attend ONE of two workshops as appropriate: All workshops are available upon request, for individuals or groups. Alternatively, faculty can request that a librarian teach this lesson during class time. |
Watch relevant Videos about Citation Management Software. (Choose appropriate tool and skill level.) |