Databases List

Library databases are searchable collections of information that help you find the material you need to successful complete your research projects. The UMass Global library provides access to many databases containing millions of books, articles, and other resources for the research needs of all courses taught here. Some databases are for general purpose use, covering many subject area and containing different types of sources. Other databases cover only specific subject areas. Some contain only specific types of sources. The Databases List shows all the library databases that UMass Global offers. If you are new to research or need a refresher, visit the Getting Started with Library Research guide.

Under each database title is a brief summary of what it contains as well as the publication range of the material contained within it. “Coverage” refers to the publication dates of the materials collected in each database. If you are looking for the latest information on a subject, make sure that the database contains recently published material.  It is important to read the description carefully before you access the database to ensure that the database provides adequate coverage for your subject area.

The database Project Muse for example, has great coverage for humanities and social science journals but may not represent science very well:

You would want to select a different database for topics in the sciences.

Likewise, Education Database is great for a broad range of materials about educational studies, but does not contain material published before 1988:

If, for example, you are working on a retrospective of how people with certain disabilities have been taught in public schools, you may need to supplement your research with a database that contains older material.