UMass Global Library Staff
Welcome
Welcome to the EDUU 600 library research guide. This guide was created to assist you with your research assignments.
Use the tabs on the left to navigate the guide.
If you have any questions about using library resources, contact a librarian by clicking on the Ask A Librarian link to be taken to a question form and a list of frequently asked questions. If you are new to research or need a refresher, visit the Getting Started with Library Research guide.
Recommended Databases
You can search for information about education and related topics by exploring subject-specific databases.
The library also subscribes to two national newspapers: The New York Times and the Wall Street Journal. Review the Special Access Resources guide to learn how to sign up for access to these newspapers.
- Education Database This link opens in a new window
Supports the study and application of education across all levels, from early childhood to higher education.
Publication range: 1988-present
- Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of international English-language periodicals, monographs, and yearbooks in all aspects of education. Also known as: Education Full Text (H.T. Wilson)
Publication range: 1983-present.
- ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Literature of education sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education. Includes journal articles, conference proceedings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, and monographs.
Publication range: 1966-present
- SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new windowA research methods tool linking to SAGE's book, journal, video, case studies, and reference content. Users can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular research methods, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Tools can be used across the social sciences, including Education.
Multidisciplinary Databases
In addition to subject-specific databases, you can broaden your search by consulting multidisciplinary databases which contains a wide range of resources about different topics. The databases listed below provide sources for education and other topics in the social sciences.
- Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window
Approximately 500 English language scholarly journals that focus on the caring professions, including practitioners, researchers, and students. Subjects include health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.
Publication range: 1987-present
- SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Includes research journals in the health sciences, social sciences, humanities, materials sciences, engineering, and life and biomedical sciences.\
Publication range: late 1800s-present
- Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Publication range: 1871-present
- Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Offers coverage of a broad array of English-language journals in the social sciences encompassing the literature of a range of interdisciplinary fields, including the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both the applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
Publication range: 1983-present