Chicago Notes and Bibliography System
Chicago Notes and Bibliography Samples
A completed bibliography in the Chicago Notes and Bibliography style resembles this sample.
On this page are additional samples of the most commonly used sources in the Chicago Notes and Bibliography system:
- Bibliography Samples - how the item appears in the bibliography
- Footnotes Samples - how the item appears in a footnote at the bottom of the page when text from the item is quoted or paraphrased
For other resource types and additional help, see:
Some rules about footnotes in the Chicago Notes and Bibliography style:
- The punctuation in footnotes is different from the punctuation in the bibliography. Be sure to compare your work to samples and proofread carefully.
- List the exact page or pages on which a cited quote or paraphrase appears, not the entire page range for an article or chapter. This is usually no more than 2 consecutive pages.
- The first time an item is quoted or paraphrased, type the complete footnote. Second and subsequent uses need only enough information to identify the work and the exact location of the quote or paraphrased statement - usually, the last name of the first author and a page number. If you are using several works by the same author, or if two authors have the same last name, include enough of the title of the work to differentiate between them.
- Footnotes are indented opposite of the entry in the bibliography. Look for instructions for making a "first line indent" in Google Docs or Microsoft Word. However, footnotes can be automatically inserted and formatted in most word processing documents; for example see Use Headers, Footers, Page Numbers and Footnotes in Google Docs Editors Help.
