Creating a Bibliography with Zotero
Zotero Plugin
Zotero offers Word Processor Plug-ins for Microsoft Word, which are installed automatically when you install Zotero on your computer. These instructions are for the Zotero Word Plug-in.
Click on the images to view a larger version.
When you open a new or existing document in Microsoft Word, you will see a Zotero tab in the top navigation menu.
The Zotero tab will contain the following icons:
| Add/Edit Citation |  |
Add a new citation or edit an existing citation in your document at the cursor location. |
|---|---|---|
| Add/Edit Bibliography |  |
Insert a bibliography at the cursor location or edit an existing bibliography. |
| Document Preferences |  |
Open the Document Preferences window, e.g. to change the citation style. |
| Refresh |  |
Refresh all citations and the bibliography, updating any item metadata that has changed in your Zotero library. |
| Unlink Citations |  |
Unlink Zotero citations in the document by removing the field codes. This prevents any further automatic updates of the citations and bibliographies. Note that removing field codes is irreversible, and should usually only be done in a final copy of your document. |
Table courtesy of Zotero (2018).
Zotero Plugin Preferences
The Zotero Word Plug-in allows you to set Document Preferences such as language and citation style.
Click on the images to view a larger version.
To set the citation style, click on Document Preferences in the Zotero menu. You can then choose your citation style, such as APA 6th edition, and click OK.
Citing Sources
To cite a source in Word, place the cursor where you want the citation to appear and click the Add/Edit Citation button in the Zotero menu.
Start typing part of the title, last name of the author, and/or year of publication in the search box. Matching items in your library will show below the box.
Select the reference item you want to cite and press the Enter/Return key. The formatted citation will appear where you placed the cursor.
Creating a Bibliography
To create a bibliography, place the cursor where you want the bibliography to start and click the Add/Edit Bibliography button.
The bibliography will appear where you placed your cursor.
