UMass Global Library News and Events: Library News and Workshop Calendar

Check out the impact of the research produced by our doctoral students! In February 2024, the UMass Global Digital Commons repository had more than 5400 downloads across more than 500 works. UMG scholarship was read by researchers from 351 institutions across 116 countries. The most downloaded works were:

A Quantitative Correlational Study between Transformational Leadership Behavior and Job Satisfaction among California Card Room Casino Employees
by Lydell Hall (2018)

The Effects of Cyberbullying as it Relates to Social Media: A California High School Assistant Principal and High School Counselor Perspective
by Rodney Stone (2020)

Against the Wind: A Study on Aviation as a Female Career Choice 
by Bonnie Gagliardo (2020)

Doctoral Students: be sure to review the Doctoral Support Resources page for important information about how to format and submit your dissertations. Access ProQuest Dissertations and Theses and the Digital Commons repository on this page.

Each term the library schedules live trainings upon request! For full details and to request or join a session, see the Library Workshops page.

Curious about Artificial Intelligence tools such as ChatGPT and Bard? Check out our Artificial Intelligence Resource Guide for Students and Generative Artificial Intelligence (GAI) Resource Guide for Faculty. These guides will help you understand what AI is, how it works, and how to use it responsibly.

The library provides access to world class research material but some require extra steps to access. Click on the links below to sign up for these special access resources. Please Ask a Librarian if you need assistance.

Wall Street Journal (WSJ) - A leading daily U.S. newspaper focused on business and economic news that is read internationally. Coverage includes access to content from 4 years ago to the present. All students and employees must register for an account and renew annually. For help with the registration process, see the Special Access Resources guide.

The New York Times (NYT) - A leading daily U.S. newspaper that is read internationally and covers the arts, business, criminal justice, healthcare, leadership, psychology, science, and sociology. The UMass Global Library provides access to NYT from 1996 to the current issue. All students and employees must register for an account to access the NYT. For help with the registration process, see the Special Access Resources guide.

These selected articles shed light on issues libraries face, illuminate the inner workings of libraries, and examine the usefulness of working collaboratively with librarians. 

Lai, Katie. How well does ChatGPT handle reference inquiries? College & Research Libraries 84, no. 6. (2023).

Shao, Shuzhen. "The Effect of Information Literacy Training on Graduate Students' Ability to Use Library Resources." College and Research Libraries 84, no. 1. (2023). 

Horbal, Andy. "A Librarian’s Perspective on Streaming Video in Educational Contexts," Ithaka S&R Blog, January 30, 2023.

Attention Faculty!

Please take a few moments to complete the library's
Faculty Satisfaction Survey
to help us improve library services!

Did you know that Global Search searches a subset of library databases owned by EBSCO (one of our main database providers), along with some open-access databases? View the entire list of databases accessible through Global Search.

Don't forget to check out our selection of databases provided by ProQuest to make sure that you're not missing relevant research related to your topic!