Skip to Main Content
Main site homepage

Primary Sources

How to find primary sources in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.

Primary Sources in the Humanities & Social Sciences

In the humanities and social sciences, use of primary sources is often critical. You must be able to locate and identify primary sources in order to be able to properly analyze the item. You will sometimes find that primary sources are contained in books and on websites that also include secondary sources for context. Therefore, you must be clear about the type of source you are using when quoting and citing the work.  

Primary sources exist in a variety of places including books, library databases, and free websites. This page offers general advice about how to go about finding primary sources, though you must try a variety of strategies as none of these methods are guaranteed to work with every search scenario.

Page Contents:

Definitions of Primary and Secondary Sources in the Humanities and Social Sciences

Humanities

In the humanities (subjects such as English/literature, religion, and philosophy) and the social sciences (subjects such as anthropology, history, political science, sociology), primary sources are generally defined as material produced at the time of an event, or by a person being studied or significantly involved with the event. Primary sources include, but are not limited to: 

  • Artifacts
  • Autobiographies
  • Field Notes
  • Interviews
  • Letters/Correspondence
  • Manuscripts
  • Memoirs
  • Oral Histories
  • Political Documents
  • Professional Papers
  • Speeches
  • Works of Art

Literary Studies

In literary studies/English courses, the terms “primary source” and “primary text” are sometimes used interchangeably, but they mean different things.  A primary text is the literary work that is being read/studied/analyzed (e.g. a novel/work of fiction such as Regeneration by Pat Barker set during World War I). A primary source is used to enhance understanding of the primary text (e.g. a doctor's report written during or immediately after World War I that addresses shell shock, a malady described in the novel Regeneration.)

Depending on when they were written, newspapers and magazine/journal articles may also be considered primary sources. For example, a New York Times article written in 1865 may be considered a primary document when one is studying the U.S. Civil War but a recent article about a new perspective in Civil War history would be secondary.

A source may be considered primary even if it is not the original copy of the material. For example, a transcription of the the U.S. Constitution on the National Archives' website is considered a primary source. When using reproductions, you need to make sure that the copy is provided by a credible entity, that it is complete and unabridged, and that nothing has been taken away from it, or that the person(s) who collected the material clearly explain any edits that they made to prepare the material for publishing, particularly when there are transcriptions of handwriting (see this sample transcription policy). Any notes, commentary, or other added material provided to help contextualize the primary material are secondary.

Definitions of Secondary Sources in the Humanities and Social Sciences

A secondary source in the humanities and social sciences is a document which is derived from, or based on, study and analysis of primary sources. These are works that are not original manuscripts or contemporary records, but which critique, comment on, or build upon primary sources. They are usually produced after events have happened and will interpret, analyze, and/or evaluate primary sources (and other secondary sources) and provide the context necessary to understand primary sources.

Secondary sources often come in the form of books and articles. They may be printed or electronic material. Secondary sources include but are not limited to:

  • Analysis
  • Commentaries
  • Criticism
  • Histories
  • Reports
  • Reviews
  • Syntheses

How to Find Primary Sources Using Global Search

Primary sources such as treaties, political correspondence, photographs, works of art and artifacts, letters, and the texts of diaries, speeches, oral histories, and interviews are often reproduced in books that analyze the source within a larger context. To find these primary sources collected in books:

  • Access Global Search. 
  • On one search line, type the phrase primary sources or documents, or any variation of that phrase. 
  • On the next line, type a keyword that relates to your topic. To add additional keywords, use a separate line. 

When you complete your search, you will see a list of items that may include primary sources. Carefully read the description to make sure:

Click image to enlarge.

You can repeat this search in WorldCat to find books containing primary sources that the UMass Global Library does not provide access to but which may be available at your local library. 

How to Find Primary Sources Related to an Individual

Politicians, authors, artists, composers, activists, and other famous or infamous individuals often have their correspondence, professional papers, diaries, memoirs, manuscripts, and other writings collected in books. The easiest way to find these documents is to search the library catalog for the person as an author. To do this:

  • Access Global Search. 
  • Use the pulldown to change "Select a Field" to “AU Author” and type your person’s name.
  • Click Search.
  • When you complete your search, you may see list of books written by your author or a list of books in which the author’s works have been collected.

Click image to enlarge.

You can repeat this search in WorldCat to find items that the UMass Global Library does not provide access to but which may be available at your local library. 

How to Find Primary Sources using Library Databases

Many primary source collections are made available by commercial publishers and can be accessed only when you are an authorized user of a library that pays for the service.  All students and staff at UMass Global can use the UMass Global Library's databases with a UMass Global sign-on. To find out which primary source collections the UMass Global Library subscribes to, take these steps: 

  • Access the library's Databases List.
  • Change the drop down menu from "All Database Types" to "Archival and Primary Sources."
  • You will see a list of databases that provide direct access to collections of primary sources.
  • Be sure to check this list periodically, as we sometimes add new databases to our collection.

How to Find Primary Sources on the Internet

Many free collections of primary sources are available on the Internet. These sites are usually produced by non-profit organizations such as colleges or universities, foundations, government entities, or museums and may be funded with grant or taxpayer money. To find primary sources on the web, simply Google your needs using as much detail as possible, and add the term "primary source" or a term that more closely describes what you seek. For example:

Before using a primary source you find on the internet, take time to make sure it comes from a reputable source. In addition to the approved primary source databases found on UMass Global's Databases List, here are more examples of popular, reliable primary source collections: