Skip to Main Content

MGTU 315: Operations Management

Resources for students enrolled in MGTU 315.

How to Find Articles

Page Contents

How to Find Sources in the Databases

Take the following steps to find credible sources using the library's databases: 

  1. Brainstorm keywords: Keywords are terms that are about or related to your topic. If you have a research topic or question, start by identifying the important terms in your topic. Keywords can be concepts, ideas, terminology, persons, and locations related to your topic. If you are unfamiliar with your topic, an encyclopedia can help you get an overview of the topic and identify potential keywords. 
  2. Select appropriate databases: The library subscribes to a variety of databases that provides information about current events and topics related to business and management.  
  1. Use keywords to search for information in the databases: You can use the database search boxes to separate your search terms. See the example below: 
    Search the databases by adding one keyword per search box
    1. To refine your search, you can use the dropdown menu to the right of the search boxes to search by Title, Subject, Abstract, or Author. 
      Use the dropdown menu to specify where to search in the item record.
  2. Use the database filters to expand or narrow your search based on criteria you set: Useful database filters include:
    1. Full Text: This will bring back sources that are available to download from the database.
      Full Text Limiter
    2. Source Type: This will allow your to select specific sources such as newspapers, magazines, scholarly articles, reports, blogs, etc. 
      Source type limiters
    3. Publication Date: If you need current information, use this filter to set the date range. 
      Publication Date Limiter
    4. Subject: This allows you to search for sources based on the subjects they're labelled under. Searching by thesaurus term is another way to find relevant sources in the databases. 
      Subject and Thesaurus Term Search

How to Download Sources

Once you find a source that's relevant to your topic, you can use the following options to download your source. 

Items in the same database Items in another database Items on the internet

PDF Full Text

This displays the item as it originally appeared in print

HTML Full Text

This displays the item as a webpage and has additional options for translating the article into another language or downloading an audio file.

HTML Full Text and PDF

Full Text Finder

This will display a link to the item if it's available in another UMass Global database or on the publisher's website using the library's custom link.

Full Text Finder

Full Text Open Access

This will display a link to the article if it's free to download from the open web, such as through the publisher's website or an institutional repository.

Full Text Open Access

Additional Resources

These library research guides provide an overview of the research process, detailed information about finding keywords, and using advanced search techniques to locate articles in the databases. 

This work is licensed under CC BY-SA 4.0