You can download e-books to a variety of devices. However, copyright restrictions on how much can be downloaded, and to which devices, and for how long, vary from publisher to publisher and even from title to title.
Most eBook publishers provide copies in .pdf or EPUB versions.
.pdf copies:
- Require a viewer such as Adobe Reader.
- Provide Tables of Contents on the left side of the e-Book.
- Allow you to search the text using the "search within" tool on the top left to search for terms within the full text of the e-Book.
EPUB copies:
- Easily toggle between the text and references or index.
- Take up less spaces to allow users to store multiple books on devices.
- Are compatible with read-aloud technology for accessibility.
- Provide reflowable text to resize and reshape the text to fit the screen.
Books provided to UMass Global from the EBSCO eBook Academic Collection have the least restrictions.
Read EBSCO eBooks Online
- This is the easiest option if you have a stable internet connection.
- No need to download special software. The eBook viewer supports reading on a desktop, laptop, tablet and many mobile devices.
- Use the left navigation in the eBook viewer to move to specific chapters, or to search within the book's text.
- Unlimited users may read the book in the browser.
Reading EBSCO eBooks Online helps you learn how to access eBooks from the EBSCO database entitled eBook Academic Collection and read the eBooks using mobile devices.
Download EBSCO eBooks to Read Offline
Chapter, Page Range, or Single Page Download from EBSCO and other Sources
- A good option when you only need a section of the book.
- Print/email/save access varies by title, but usually allows about 100 pages.
- Access doesn't expire.
- Allows others to use the book.
EBSCO Mobile App
The EBSCO Mobile app enables you to download EBSCO e-books and read them within the app without needing Adobe Digital Editions software. You will need to create a free account to use it. You can download the EBSCO mobile app from Google Play or the Apple App Store. More information about the app an be found at:
The EBSCO Mobile App video helps you learn to use EBSCO databases on your mobile devices. The mobile app works only with EBSCO-branded databases, which have a blue banner and the EBSCOhost logo:
You can select EBSCO databases by going to the UMass Global Library’s Databases List and changing the All Vendors/Providers drop down menu to EBSCO.
